Facebook Pixel HGTC’s Matthew Defreitas Named 2021 New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar for South Carolina | Horry-Georgetown Technical College

Matthew Defreitas Named 2021 New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar

HGTC’s Matthew Defreitas Named 2021 New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar for South Carolina

(Conway, SC) 03/30/2021

Matthew DefreitasHorry-Georgetown Technical College (HGTC) student, Matthew Defreitas, has been named a 2021 New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar and received a $2,250 scholarship. An officer in the HGTC Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, he is completing his Associate in Science degree and plans to study medicine in undergraduate school to become a physician specializing in medical research.

“Matthew Defreitas is not only representing HGTC but also the state of South Carolina with this amazing scholarship award. He has worked hard on the Honors Action Projects and College Projects through Alpha Nu Sigma. We are so proud of the way he has performed academically and volunteered willingly for many great causes. His contributions should be commended,” said Dr. Marilyn Murphy Fore, HGTC President.

New Century Transfer Pathway Scholars are selected based on their academic accomplishments, leadership, activities, and how they extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom. Over 2,000 students were nominated from more than 1,200 college campuses across the country. Only one New Century Transfer Scholar is selected from each state.

“Matthew is well-deserving of receiving academic scholarships through Phi Theta Kappa. He is an outstanding student and exceptional Alpha Nu Sigma chapter officer. We would not have successfully completed our projects without him this year,” said Beth Carraway, HGTC Accounting Professor and Phi Theta Kappa Advisor.

The program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).

“We congratulate Matthew Defreitas for receiving this prestigious scholarship, and we are honored to partner with the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, The Coca-Cola Foundation, and the AACC to recognize his outstanding achievements,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner. “Scholarship programs like this are integral for creating opportunities for two-year college students to succeed and for putting college completion within reach.”